skip to primary navigationskip to content

Nonino Prize 2017 awarded to Cyprian Broodbank

last modified Feb 01, 2017 04:10 PM
A further prestigious literary award for Cyprian Broodbank volume 'The Making of the Middle Sea'

A jury, presided over by V.S. Naipaul has awarded Cyprian Broodbank the Nonino Prize 2017 for his 'landmark' publication 'The Making of the Middle Sea: A History of the Mediterranean from the Beginning to the Emergence of the Classical World', which was published in 2013.

Cyprian Broodbank, (Disney Professor of Archaeology at the University of Cambridge and Director of the McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research) will deliver a speech when he receives the award at a ceremony in Udine, Italy on 28th January 2017.

The awarding body has issued a press release stating: 'Cyprian Broodbank’s work, now considered "a masterpiece of the archeological, historical and geographic research of the Mediterranean”, with a winning writing (sic) proposes in more than six-hundred pages the prehistory and evolution of the Middle Sea, from the birth of agriculture to the development of navigation and metallurgy, from the rising of archaic myths to the deep suggestions of art and thought, opening for us glimpses of modernity in the remote relations among Mediterranean peoples, a universe that helps us investigate the globalized world.'

In 2014, "Making of the Middle Sea" was one of two winners of a Wolfson History Prize. 

The international Nonino Prize was founded by a small, family-run company 'Nonino' that produces Italian grappa, and has developed into a prestigious literary prize.


Posted 17/01/2017

Share this