skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

Our History

The McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research in the University of Cambridge was established in 1990 through a generous benefaction from the late Dr D.M. McDonald. The benefaction enabled the University to construct and maintain purpose-built premises for the Institute which include research rooms and laboratories, together with archive space and a seminar room.

 

dm-mcdonaldDr Daniel McLean McDonald, born in Fort William, Scotland, in 1905, had degrees in Engineering (Glasgow) and Medicine (Birmingham). He was founder and Chairman of the BSR Group, manufacturers of record turntables and record changers. He died in his adoptive home, the Isle of Man, in February 1991.


ac-renfrew

The founding director of the Institute was Professor Colin Renfrew - Lord Renfrew of Kaimsthorn, formerly Disney Professor of Archaeology in the Department of Archaeology.

 

 

 

Background to the McDonald Institute Triskeles

Dr McDonald's choice of emblem for the Institute was influenced by the symbol of the Isle of Man, his adopted home. The winged feet of the Triskeles are those of Hermes, and were taken from a fifth-century Syracusan coin.

Showcasing research highlights and outreach for the academic year 2015-2016

Read more

Upcoming events

Africa on the Move Conference

Sep 08, 2017

McDonald Institute, Downing Street, Cambridge, CB2 3ER and Biffen Lecture Theatre, 8 Tennis Ct Rd, Cambridge CB2 1QJ

Upcoming events

An Oral History of the McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research